These photos show some of the members of days gone by. Sunday church goers, Sister
Polly Wolford being baptized, and Pastor Robert Wolford and Brother Earl Layne are seen baptizing another brother.
Special thanks to Sister Pam Wolford for providing these photos.
Barrenshe Church of God, originally a schoolhouse, was founded in the early 1900's.
After several years of being used for that purpose a larger local school was built and the building was converted into a full
time church. Though we have heeded God's calling for expansion to accomodate the growth within the congregation and the vision
of the Christian School, the first church continues to be utilized as a fellowship hall and remains intact connected
to the sanctuary in which we currently worship.
Special care in preserving the old structure of the original buidling
is being used during the construction of the new dwelling. Inside it will remain the same. Outside the structure will
be covered with a steel shell and the old roof removed so that a the space second story can be made.
With each challenge we have encountered, the church has become stronger in faith. We
invite you to become a part of the church today and a piece of its history tomorrow.
Anyone having old photos from the church, baptisms, or just old memorabilia of the Barrenshe/Freeburn area
please email them as we would love to post them on the site.